Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
oliver.kitch  
#1 Posted : 27 June 2016 10:46:36(UTC)
oliver.kitch

Hello All Apologies if this is not the correct place to ask this question as I am relatively new to the IOSH membership and how it operates. My Query is that I used to work for a Railway engineering company and was deducted a full wage with an additional £400 being requested to be paid immediately. the monies were "owed" due to claiming back holiday that were taken that had not been accrued and training costs that were within a 2 year limit. My argument is that yes I appreciate that monies where owed however the training that was undertaken was a necessity for my role, I am confused as the health at safety act work act states employees shouldn't be made to pay for training or is this whilst being employed? also if this is the case does it mean I can charge them for paying for my own training in parts that was a necessity for the role? On top of that the money was demanded up front with no option of a tiered repayment schedule (being relatively green to the role my salary/mortgage and dependents could not cover that and the wage deducted all in one month) I have gone to HSE but only get a generic leaflet response. I would appreciate any help you could send my way If this reads confusing I apologise. Kind Regards Ollie
walker  
#2 Posted : 27 June 2016 11:03:10(UTC)
walker