Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Admin  
#1 Posted : 06 December 2000 15:26:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Graham Clarke MIOSH, MIIRSM Can you help me, what type of photo's are acceptable in a court of law, i.e. 1. 35mm 2. Polaroid 3. Digital 4. Throw away type We are talking about evidence here, is it acceptable to use any of the above.
Admin  
#2 Posted : 06 December 2000 16:33:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Phil Roberts In my former life as a photographer I was asked on several occasions to take photographs of personal injuries to be used in court for damages claims. On one occasion I was asked to photgraph a damaged pavement area before the local council repaired it. This again was for a damages claim. All these photographs were provided on 35mm. 7x5 prints. The negatives were also provided to prove no manipulation had taken place. All the photographs were requested by solicitors and used in subsequent court cases. I am sure other types of print such as polaroid would be acceptable but digital images can be easily manipulated and my guess is they would not be acceptable. Hope this helps Regards Phil Roberts
Admin  
#3 Posted : 07 December 2000 21:35:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Martyn Hendrie I have taken polaroid photo's that have been accepted in court.However, I had to turn up in person to testify that the photos submitted were taken by me at the time and place where the alleged offence occurred. I agree with the other respondant that digital would not be accepted. Hope this helps
Admin  
#4 Posted : 08 December 2000 08:36:00(UTC)
Admin