Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Admin  
#1 Posted : 10 February 2003 19:00:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Elizabeth Hallows I work as a manual handling advisor in social services, specifically looking at the handling of people. We contract out some of our home care services to external agencies. I am concerned that our contracts with these agencies should specify requirements to do with their arrangements for manual handling [such as carrying out risk assessments,identifying a competent person, training workers etc], but currently they do not. Does anyone have any advice for me on what these contracts should require? Is anyone aware of a court case which has involved a local authority in these circumstances? Thank you, Elizabeth
Admin  
#2 Posted : 13 February 2003 11:52:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Dave Wilson Hi Elizabeth, Would the LA be responsible for the care of their people and they have employed someone to 'do their job' so to speak and therefore if the LA have not satisfied themselves and ensured that these agencies are suitable and competent to undertake the task I feel that the LA would be responsible as you are contracting out something which you should be doing.
Admin  
#3 Posted : 14 February 2003 12:05:00(UTC)
Admin