Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Dean m  
#1 Posted : 07 February 2017 09:52:51(UTC)
Dean m

Hi all, I'm after some advice on what course to take and what I can do in my work and spare time to help me start a career in health and safety. So, a bit about me, to hopefully give you some ideas of how I can move forward. I was in the RAF for 9 years as an Aircraft Technician, I then worked as a contractor for BAe. For the last 7 years I have been working in a factory in production/maintenance, this involves inspecting, operating and inspecting power presses. Firstly I am closing in on the big 40, am I to old to start a career in health and safety? I am expecting and happy to start in a lower position and work my way up from there. As for courses should I start with the NEBOSH general certificate or could I go straight into the NEBOSH diploma? Currently I work shifts and have some spare time so could I volunteer somewhere or tag on to a H&S inspector to gain some experience? Any more helpful advice will be very appreciated. Q Thank you Dean
WatsonD  
#2 Posted : 07 February 2017 10:03:41(UTC)
WatsonD

Hi Dean,

As I'm sure you are aware there is no bonafied right and wrong for this, so if I start off by addressing you points one-by-one.

1. No I don't think age is a barrier. I think developing skills and experience in the industry aides your transistion as you have a better understanding.

2. My advice would be to dip your toe in first and do the Nebsoh cert. It will only take 12 weeks.

3. Yes shadowing would help. Utilise your networks for this

thanks 1 user thanked WatsonD for this useful post.