Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
HP-20  
#1 Posted : 02 February 2017 12:04:59(UTC)
HP-20

Good Afternoon folks!

I am currently considering enrolling on the NCRQ lvl 6 Diploma to gain GradIosh Status.

Last year I was made redundant from the Oil and Gas industry and I have been struggling to get any work related to my qualifications ever since.

My question is simply whether or not I would be in good stead to pick up HSE work with my offshore expereince and Grad IOSH status? Offshore I worked in the exploration sector which was extremely HSE concious and I took part/lead many Tool box talks/Permit to work/Safety Meetings.

Thank you in advance for you advice! 

H

gerrysharpe  
#2 Posted : 02 February 2017 12:41:55(UTC)
gerrysharpe

Hi H,

Diploma level 6 is always a good marker to aim for, it will show potential employers your Commitment to health and Safety, so go for it!

But be sure you can get a job at the end, I've looked at a few Oil and Gas jobsites but couldn't find much, so not sure if you know something i don't??

Getting the Qualifications is easy enough, its getting the pratical experiance thats the hard part

Good luck and let us know how you progressed

fhunter  
#3 Posted : 02 February 2017 13:34:51(UTC)
fhunter

Hi,

Do you have any other Safety qualifications currently? 

I would be inclined to take a level 3 course first as a stepping stone into the diploma if you haven't already.