Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
spencerwhitaker  
#1 Posted : 11 March 2017 11:49:22(UTC)
spencerwhitaker

Hi all,

I am looking for some carreer advice. I am newly qualified with the nebosh NGC. I have worked for 26 years in all types of engineering , structural steel, vehicals etc. Before that I served 6 years in the army.

I completed this course "off my own back" as I would like a change in carreer.

I have helped out at work with risk assessments and method statements and attended the tri annual safety meetings but this is rare as I work mainly on the worshop floor so i have limited experience.

Obviously I have searched the job sites ,and asked around but I am at a loss to where practically to begin seriously to look for work in this field.

Also is there any publications I should look at or sites good for information?

I am open to any type of work but like the idea of working for a consultancy, going out to clients and completeing their asssessments.

If anyone can steer me in the right direction I would be grateful

thanks

Spencer

Clark34486  
#2 Posted : 12 March 2017 13:01:19(UTC)
Clark34486

I was in a similar situation (ex RN) then into construction (electrical)

I chose the sector I was experienced in, wrote hundreds of letters enclosing a CV and a covering letter, I then put it to the back of my mind and within 9 mths I received a call inviting me to an interview

WatsonD  
#3 Posted : 17 March 2017 10:45:01(UTC)
WatsonD

Hi Spencer,