Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
LeanneD  
#1 Posted : 18 July 2017 12:33:08(UTC)
LeanneD

Hi guys!

I am fairly new to the world of H&S, having worked in the H&S department for 18 months.   I completed my NEBOSH Certificate last year and am currently AIOSH.

I am keen to develop myself and have seen a role advertised locally for a volunteer H&S advisor and just wondered what the benefits and draw backs of such a thing might be? 

It would allow me to develop knowledge and experience in another sector to the one i currently work in, giving me the need to gen up on rather different regulations to the DSE and Welfare ones that seem to dominate my life right now, however i wonder if i am trying to run before i can even crawl as at times i still feel like a total newbie to the industry (and i guess relatively speaking i am!).

Any views?

Edited by user 18 July 2017 14:18:56(UTC)  | Reason: spelling

jwk  
#2 Posted : 18 July 2017 14:05:05(UTC)
jwk

Hi Leanne,

It depends on the scope of the role I guess. When we ask people to volunteer we provide them with a role spec, a volunteer agreement and opportunities to learn about us and our work. So what we offer is structure and support. The downside is that there is no pay, though reasonable expenses are met. If the volunteering role doesn't have structure, doesn't have clear aims and objectives, and doesn't offer support then it may be mostly downside. It really is down to the particulars of a a given environment,

John

LeanneD  
#3 Posted : 18 July 2017 14:23:07(UTC)
LeanneD

Thanks jwk.