Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
ShaunBaker91  
#1 Posted : 04 October 2017 12:35:39(UTC)
ShaunBaker91

I was Previously in a duel role as a chemical operator and safety advisor I left to go into a predominant Health and Safety role as I am now studying my Degree equivalent.

My current role, I started as a health and safety assistant, this was due to be junior H&S advisor and I have had major arguments with management and the directors over my role and title I have always presumed that an assistant is to assist.

my current duties are:

- Review and conduct Risk Assessments.

- Job hazard analysis.

- Produce Safe Systems of Work.

- Organise Training and Conduct toolbox talks.

- New employee training, training records and training matrix's.

- Develop induction handbooks for new employees and visitors and deliver these as necessary.

- Develop and maintain a safety management system inline with ISO18001.

- Identify legal requirements.

- Write Policies and Procedures.

- Conduct internal system audits on safety management system.

- test fire alarm and document, produce fire evacuation plans and ensure best practise is maintained.

- conduct daily workplace inspections.

- conduct a monthly hazard report and action plan.

- lead accident/incident investigation and conduct root cause analysis.

- set targets and objectives to reduce accidents, incidents, near misses and workplace hazards.

- develop graphs to monitor performance.