Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
DHeptinstall  
#1 Posted : 16 October 2017 14:42:33(UTC)
DHeptinstall

Hi all

I am expecting to have passed the NEBOSH National Diploma come November when the Unit D results are out.

I'm interested to hear what sort of H&S jobs could be available for me.

I currently work as a Facilities Manager (with company-wide H&S responsibilities) in the education/charity sector and see that most roles currently advertised are for construction, engineering or other industries which all require experience within that environment.

Does anyone have any ideas about how to get a foot in the door H&S career wise?

I have a fair bit of experience in the field but it's never been a part of my job title.

Thanks

georgiaredmayne  
#2 Posted : 17 October 2017 06:54:02(UTC)
georgiaredmayne

Hi,

Have you thought about doing a bit of volunteering or perhaps looking for jobs with utility/FM companies which require H&S professionals?

P.S. Well done on the Dip!

thanks 1 user thanked georgiaredmayne for this useful post.
DHeptinstall on 17/10/2017(UTC)
DHeptinstall  
#3 Posted : 17 October 2017 09:28:24(UTC)
DHeptinstall

Yeah not too sure how volunteering would fit in with a full time job..... will check out utility companies.

Maybe go in for a H&S role with less responsibility and work upwards.

Thanks!

pl53  
#4 Posted : 17 October 2017 14:24:46(UTC)
pl53