Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
ryangavin777  
#1 Posted : 10 September 2017 14:33:30(UTC)
ryangavin777

I'm currently studying for the NEBOSH Unit B (Hazardous Substances and Agents), unit B3/4 to be specfic. I understand probably 80% of the content at the minute but I am struggling with is how do I translate this into a real life situation.

Lets assume, for example, that a new task is being introduced into the workplace such as cutting wood. How would I know what level of protection is required? What LEV is suitable? What RPE is required?

I know this would be as a result of a risk assessment but how would I actually know the amount of contaminant in the workplace? Would this be contracted out in the real world or am I completely missing something?

I'd really appreciate a real life scenario with calculations, if that's possible? 

I would be looking for a scenario similar to the below, if that's possible.

1. Stone massonary is having their LEV serviced and RPE is required several days. How would I know or calculate what level of protection is required? I understand that EH40 provides workplace exposure limits, which is great, but how do I actually know what the exposure limit is in my workplace?

I hope this makes sense! Many thanks in advance.

Kate  
#2 Posted : 10 September 2017 18:40:00(UTC)
Kate