Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
DColhoun  
#1 Posted : 07 December 2017 14:49:25(UTC)
DColhoun

This is my first post so please go easy on me! 

My background is Environmental Health with over 11 years in the public sector in the area of Environmental Protection. I am now seeking to change my career toward H&S, most likely in the private sector due to the percentage of job opportunites available. My BSc (Hons) degree (cognate) has allowed me to obtained Grad IOSH and I have enrolled on the NEBOSH Diploma (self-funded) to strengthen my knowledge base. I am thoroughly enjoying it so far and i can see why many H&S professional are intelliegent people!!. I also have a Diploma in Acoustic and Noise Control. 

Until I complete my NEBOSH I was initially under the impression that I would have difficulty securing any H&S positions primarily due to having minimal H&S experience. 

My ideal position would be to secure a post where i could learn on the job, complete my Diploma, and apply my transferrible skills gained from my current position. What makes the task perhaps more difficult I am relocating back to Northern Ireland where the job pool is more limited.

However I have seen many job descriptions which all vary in required qualificiations and experience so I know the above is possible if I structre my CV to play on my strengths and skills. 

Does anyone have any words of encouragement that I am on the right track to pursuing my new career in a sensible manner. Any other tips or advice is greatly appreciated? 

Cheers

Fraser38932  
#2 Posted : 07 December 2017 21:09:02(UTC)
Fraser38932