Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
ClaireD100  
#1 Posted : 20 June 2018 17:25:16(UTC)
ClaireD100

Hello,

I am new to H&S training and would appreciate some advice from anybody here. I have worked in the construction / maintenance industry for many years now.

I am thinking of taking this course and wondered if anyone could tell me if it would be a way to gain Tech or Grad membership. I would eventually like to teach IOSH courses and need to have at least Tech membership to be able to do so (I already hold a teaching qualification)

https://www.alphasafety.co.uk/course/iq-level-5-(nvq)-diploma-in-occupational-health-&-safety/131

If it's not suitable, could anybody advise me on an alternative route? I chose this course as it is NVQ based and I can't really afford to take lots of time off of work at the moment.

Thanks in advance for any help

linda xc  
#2 Posted : 21 June 2018 13:55:51(UTC)
linda xc

Hi

That looks to be the old standard (under City & Guilds known as the 3654-05).  You would want the new standard - 3654-06 with the optional unit 611 in order to get Grad.IOSH.

When you make your choice, find out who else has had success with them and what the Assessor is like.  I have just been speaking to one candidate who has had 7 assesssors so far and currently is un- assigned so can not progress.  Not something you want to be paying for!

Regards

Linda

thanks 1 user thanked linda xc for this useful post.
ShaunG on 28/10/2018(UTC)
Fenge2  
#3 Posted : 21 June 2018 13:59:08(UTC)
Fenge2