Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
MaxPayne  
#1 Posted : 16 January 2020 07:56:44(UTC)
MaxPayne

Seeking wider advice if I may.  I am CMIOSH and the corporate H&S manager for a city council managing a small internal H&S team delivering services across the authority and to ariound 74 schools.  A significant restructure has seen our scientific services team split and I have through negotiation rather than it being imposed, agreed to take on the addition of managing the small team of asbestos surveyors who undertake Reg 4 surveys, R&D and so on.  Whilst I have a level of competency I recognise that I am not an expert in this field so want to look at what additional training may help me in this new role.  Are there any asbestos managers out there who may be able to offer some advice please?  I've briefly looked at BOHS P405 and ARCO offer RSPH Level 3 Award in Asbestos Management for Dutyholders, but there may be smething better suited?

Thanks

jodieclark1510  
#2 Posted : 17 January 2020 10:05:44(UTC)
jodieclark1510

I hold P405 and really enjoyed the course. Personally I think it is a good baseline, particularly if you have your training through a good provider. I am lucky in a sense as my manager was a surveyor and analyst in previous roles, so I have also learned alot from him alongside my course.

Edited by user 17 January 2020 10:06:26(UTC)  | Reason: Spelling

thanks 1 user thanked jodieclark1510 for this useful post.
MaxPayne on 17/01/2020(UTC)
maybarrett  
#3 Posted : 12 February 2020 02:07:04(UTC)
maybarrett

Originally Posted by: jodieclark1510 Go to Quoted Post