Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
TJCar1974  
#1 Posted : 16 May 2020 15:57:19(UTC)
TJCar1974

Hi all,  I've just registerd on this forum after a long break away.  I'm after a bit of advice from you lovely people please.  I am an ex-HSE advisor, I worked as a Process Safety Engineer then HSE Advisor in the Chemicals Industry, looking after Process Safety and Occupational H&S.  I did my Nebosh level 6 diploma in 2010.  

I was made redundant from my last job in H&S in 2009 thanks to the economic downturn then, and I was 8 months pregnant when I was made redundant. Due to family circumstances I have not yet got back into the workplace, and to be honest I don't want to go back to being an employee - I want to be self employed.

I have gained loads of experience of running a Limited company over these last few years as I have run a residential management company (think like a managemegnt company for a block of flats, only this is for a large estate).  I have used all my skills to set up as a Virtual Assistant (VA) - offering admin and bookkeeping / finance support to small businesses (I've also done my AATs).

I was thinking of pivoting my VA business to support freelance H&S consultants in running their business, then I thought about being a H&S consultant myself.  My fear with that is I have not kept up with legislation changes over the 10 year.