Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
BenjiVilla  
#1 Posted : 10 January 2022 11:48:52(UTC)
BenjiVilla

Morning all, after being forced to close my own business I decided to embark on a new career path in H & S. I have no experience or prior knowledge of the sector although I do have a NVQ2 in H&S in the workplace which I did whilst working in a warehouse.

In December I purchased the NBEOSH general course in an online study format. This morning I have started NG1 Element 2 and I'm struggling with all of the information. Up to this point I have managed but I have struggled with recording each section. I have literally screenshot and written every page within the training course and so far I have printouts 3" thick and half a notepad full already.

Do I really need to record every single section for each element? for example today I started on "The basics of a Health & Safety Management System" which contains loads of sections detailing the ISO45001:2018. Are there different study approaches available such as cards that record the most important information I need to know for each section or similar?  How colleges can do this course in 5 days is beyond me but it does make me think how they deliver the course because to do it like I am would take months not weeks.

Kate  
#2 Posted : 10 January 2022 15:16:48(UTC)
Kate

I'm sorry for your horrible introduction to the profession.  It shouldn't be like that.

It sounds like you have bought a duff one.  Distance learning shouldn't be at all like that.