Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
SKC7  
#1 Posted : 17 October 2023 11:53:56(UTC)
SKC7

Hi all, 

I've set a personal goal to widen my EHS experience to more industries other than manufacturing and I want to achieve this by working for a consultancy firm within the next 24 months. 

I'm currently a multisite EHS advisor working for a large areospace manufacturing organisation. Since I graduated from university, I have worked in a health and safety advisory role for two large manufacturing organisations. I have a first-class business degree and hold the NEBOSH National Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety (2015 spec). I'm also a memeber of IOSH (GradIOSH) and aiming to be chartered within the next 12 months. 

I'm in my mid twenties and do not have or plan to have children in the foreseeable future therefore I am open to travel in the UK. As well as this, I don't have any personal factors or considerations that would limit me from travelling. 

My question is how do I make myself more appealing to consultancies? I understand I do not have consultancy experience but I know I will be a great consultant once I have been trained, perhaps working for a senior consultant. 

I only have manufacturing experience but as we all know these skills are transferable to other industries. I'm motivated to learn and progress in my career.

Any advice from those who have been in my position or those who have worked in consultancies would be much appreciated. I know where I want to be, I just need advice on how to get there!

Thank you. 

Kapil 

antbruce001  
#2 Posted : 17 October 2023 14:59:43(UTC)
antbruce001

Kapil,