Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Hendlem  
#1 Posted : 26 March 2024 11:05:52(UTC)
Hendlem

Hi All

I'm currently an Apprentice H&S Officer who refuses to deviate away from the IOSH Code of Conduct.

At my site, we have a diabetic employee who has been asked by a manager to go to Arco to select safety footwear. He's provided medical evidence which Occupational Health has aprpoved. 

I can't help but think it's unreasonable to send an employee to source his own PPE outside of his working hours. 

Should we not be researching a suitable and sufficient shoe designed for diabetics and provide it accordingly? Please correct me if my mindset is wrong. 

Jonny95  
#2 Posted : 26 March 2024 11:15:59(UTC)
Jonny95

Hi,

What's the employee's opinion?

I often have people asking me if they can go and buy their own safety boots and bring the receipt. We'll only contribute towards the cost up to what we pay for our standard boots, but if they're happy, I'm happy.

I would pay the full price for these boots though if needed as some form of reasonable adjustment, would still be happy for the employee to have a say in it though or purchase themselves - they're going to be the ones working in them. 

Edited by user 26 March 2024 11:20:19(UTC)  | Reason: small grammer change / addition

Hendlem  
#3 Posted : 26 March 2024 11:19:40(UTC)
Hendlem

Originally Posted by: Jonny95 Go to Quoted Post

Hi,

What's the employee's opinion?