Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Admin  
#1 Posted : 16 October 2003 21:39:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Ken Chappell I ama 24 year old lift engineer. Employed by the UK's largest lift engineering firm. I have over 8 years experience in all aspects of the industry. I have completed my NEBOSH cert and will shortly be completing my NTU Diploma in EH&S. I am looking for my career to move in a new direction. I ideally would like a career to combine my experience of the lift industry and my knowledge of health and safety. Preferably i would like to be self employed. Does anyone have any advice or suggestions of ways i could further my career. Any advice / suggestions much appreciated. Many thanks Ken Chappell
Admin  
#2 Posted : 17 October 2003 03:53:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Jason Gould Like you ken I want to get into Health and Safety. Heres a couple of things I have been advised to do. 1. Get a teaching cert under your belt. 2. Join someone like IOSH 3. (Im still learning this) Office politics 4. Get used to taking the mick out of yourself cos all your freinds will hehehe. 5. Try and master a pc to the best of your ability. 6. Think liability insurance etc. 7. Hunt all the free info sites down and add to your favourites. 8. Dont let anyone put you off. 9. Finnally I would suggests getting Degree Or NEBOSH Dips (this can be disputed by others) Good luck mate (if its any consilation I have not found a job yet hehehehe) Jason
Admin  
#3 Posted : 27 October 2003 19:22:00(UTC)
Admin