Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Admin  
#1 Posted : 20 December 2000 06:05:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Jeannette Lount I am an OH nurse with a few employees who are apparently refusing to attend for health surveillance for HAVS and audiometry. Company policy states and legislation supports that they should attend yet I appreciate that people have individual rights. I wonder if anyone could advise me of best practice in this field. The business managers are concerned re the health of their employees and potential implications for the future.
Admin  
#2 Posted : 20 December 2000 08:03:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By John Donaldson We sometimes have problems with a very few members of staff and post graduate students who do not attend or complete medical surveillance questionnaires. Our policy is to deregister them for the work they are on. This has the desired effect as their research work is then stopped. It works for us but it will depend on your type of organisation.
Admin  
#3 Posted : 20 December 2000 13:09:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Dr. Andrew Rankine I must agree with John Donaldson. If corporate policy states that health surveillance is required for certain activities/jobs (by virtue of Reg 6 of the Management Regs), then employees must co-operate with their employer by attending as required (see HASAWA s7(b)) In practical terms this tends to be a disciplinary matter, and ultimately has to be dealt with as Donaldson has suggested - by suspension until compliance has been gained.
Admin  
#4 Posted : 20 December 2000 13:29:00(UTC)
Admin