Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Admin  
#1 Posted : 16 March 2001 00:26:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Frank penny Hi folks I’m a newbie to the group my name is Frank Penny my apologies in advance for this “epistle” frpennybit@ntlworld.com I am a mature student studying for a BSc (Hons) Construction Management (Health and Safety)] Following work-related spinal injury (T9/10 & C5/6) and surgery I was unable to continue working as a bricklayer; and rather than sit and vegetate at home I decided that furthering my education was the best route to get myself back into the job market. Final year dissertation is:- “An exploration of the physiological & psychological effects of spinal injury both to victims and their families.” I know from first hand experience of the socio-economic, psychological & physiological effects that construction injuries have on the family unit, but as with all dissertation work, reference has to be made to empirical & research evidence that will support ones arguments. Well I’ve done that bit now. I am writing to ask the forum members for some help in contacting people who have suffered workplace spinal injuries. In order to compare reality with the theory I would like to ask these victims of spinal injury, a series of questions about how the injury affected them and more particularly their relationship with their spouses, partners, kids and family. I have submitted my own case history for inclusion in the dissertation but I feel the reality check / message would be more powerful if it came from people outside of my own sphere of influence. The path my dissertation has taken is Discovery and explo