Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Admin  
#1 Posted : 17 March 2001 13:49:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By STEVE HI EVERYONE WONDERING IF ANYONE HS THE TIME TOGIVE ME SOME INFO. A FEW MTHS AGO I SENT A THREAD IN ASKING IF A 15 MIN VIDEO WAS ENOUGH TO BECOME A TOP/MAN[HOLE WATCHER}. WHILST I MYSELF WAS CONCERNED ABOUT THIS IT WAS STILL DEEMED GOOD ENOUGH ON THE SITE WHERE I WORKED. AS A CONTRACTOR I JOINED THE SAFETY COMMITEE FOR CONTRACTORS WHERE I BROUGHT THS UP,WHILST THINGS HAAVE IMPROVED THE C/S COURSE IS NOW 2HRS WITH A 20 QUESTION PAPER{THE TUTOR HAS NO EXPERENCE OF C/S OTHER THAN BASIC H&S AND WHAT IS PRESENTED ON VIDEO AND PAPER FORMAT} IM STILL CONCERNED THAT RECORDS SHOW THAT NO-ONE HAS FAILED WTH THIS SYSTEM,AM I BEING TO SCEPTIC. I HAVE JUST STARTED MY DIPLOMA PT1 AND HAVE ASKED THE H&S MANAGER IF I CAN COME UP WITH A QUESTIONIARRE TO AUDIT THE DIFFERENT PERSONEL{CONTRACTORS+SITE STAFF} WHO HAVE PASSED THIS COURSE TO SEE IF WEEKS DOWN THE LINE ,WHAT LEVEL OF COMPETENCE IS STILL ENFORCED. I FEEL SURE THAT WITH THIS STILL SMALL AMOUNT OF TRAINING THAT MY FEARS WILL BE CONFIRMED. IF ANYONE HAS ANY QUESTIONS THAT THEY FEEL THAT A CONFINED SPACE HOLE WATCHER SHOULDKNOW I WOULD BE GRATEFUL OF YOUR SUGGESTIONS SO AS TO PUT THEM ON MY LIST. WHEN I HAVE DONE MY SURVEY AND REPORTED BACK WITH MY FINDINGS I WILL COME BACK TO CHATROOM TO DISCUSS. I KNOW CIARAN, PHIL AND STUART WILL HAVE SOME INPUT ON THIS BECAUSE OF THE WAY THEY FEEL ABOUT C/SPACES BUT OTHERS WHO DO NOT HAVE THE SAME EXPERENCE SHOULD RESPOND ASWELL AS MAYBE THE EXPERIENCED WILL FORGET ABOUT THE BASIC QUESTIONS THEY SHOULD KNOW. I DONT WANT TO MAKE THE QUE