Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Admin  
#1 Posted : 14 July 2001 12:39:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Chris Harris Are lightning conductors required eg for existing hotel properties under safety law or under building regulations? Are they designed to protect the building or the occupants? Where can I search for details like ACOPs and/or relevant regulations. All suggestions greatly appreciated.
Admin  
#2 Posted : 16 July 2001 07:10:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Ken Urquhart Chris. Firstly I am not an Electrical Engineer or an electrical expert but my experience suggests that you consider the following. I don't know for sure but I believe that Lightning Protection in the UK is required for Public and Commercial premises, under Building Regulations. Lightning protection is to protect the Building/Structure. Try British standards. BS6651 comes to mind - Protection of Structures against Lightning. Your Insurers or Insurance Brokers may well be able to offer some advice as Lightning Protection would assist their Risk Exposure, (Think of the FIRE at York Minster and the destruction 0f The Rose Window - Lightning Strike some years ago). Also under Building Regs and Electrical Installations IEE 16th., Edition Code, Earthing/Grounding requirements are defined and probably Lightning Protection as well. Try the IEE, Institution of Electrical Engineers Web site. www.iee.org Also talk to your Local Electricity Supply Company. If you are in the Hotel Business then I think Lightning Protection and Voltage Surge Protection would be important to you, not only for the protection of your building(s), but for the Protection of electronic eq