Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Admin  
#1 Posted : 20 August 2001 10:59:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By shaun mckeever I wonder if anyone can help me. I am a fire officer and I have just recently been informed that there is a deep (40m) excavation on my patch with tunnelling works soon to start. I believe in the short 30-minute visit I had to the site that all safety precautions that the tunnelling company should have put in place are in place, however, since this is not my field can anyone advise me. The deepest part of the tunnelling will be 4.5km to the face. Detectors, breathing apparatus, emergency lighting are just some of the safety precautions in place. Many thanks, Shaun McKeever
Admin  
#2 Posted : 20 August 2001 20:54:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Peter J Harvey www.hsebooks.co.uk will get you to the HSE books site and a search under tunnels will give you some pointers. I seem to remember a very interesting publication on the Channel Tunnel and safety precautions!! You never know what might help.
Admin  
#3 Posted : 23 August 2001 20:40:00(UTC)
Admin