Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages<12
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Admin  
#41 Posted : 11 November 2003 19:10:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Jim O'Dwyer Hi Jason, Sorry for the delay in coming back to you. I am as keen as you are to establish the facts in relation to S44 and I think that examining the "scenario" you provided is a good idea. Can I make it clear to you right from the start that whilst I feel I have a handle on this, I am not a qualified lawyer. I am not providing you (or anyone else) with professional advice and it should not be considered as such. I recommend seeking legal advice before acting in reliance on any of the information provided below. That said, here we go. The law expects (and encourages, protects and supports) employees to always: Behave "as an ordinary cautious person" would Avoid taking risks Sing out if they have a concern about safety Disengage from unsafe practice Withdraw in circumstances of serious and imminent danger which they could not expect to avert Act in the public interest - including drawing public attention to serious safety deficiencies (i.e. whistleblowing) Performing 'duty' can sometimes be onerous, but: If serious safety shortcomings existed at a venue which you frequented, would you expect the staff to highlight them, or keep you in the dark and give you the impression everything was fine? If, you carried on working, knowing full well the circumstances were unsafe and got hurt, could you really expect compensation? If, you carried on working knowing full well the circumstances were unsafe and you ended up hurting someone, could you feel free from guilt? If, you carried on working knowing