Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
markeland  
#1 Posted : 28 December 2018 10:45:04(UTC)
markeland

Hi all,

I have been working as a full-time H&S Advisor for approximately 5 years in the London area. I have a NEBOSH NGC and IOSH Managing Safely but am a very conscious that I should always be bolstering my CV with additional qualifications. 

Can anyone please recommend some qualifications which are realistically achievable whilst also holding down a full-time job? I understand that the pass rate for the NEBOSH Diploma is quite low and ideally, I would rather avoid something where everything boils down to a day's worth of exams. Having said that, whenever I look at job adverts, employers always seem to favour NEBOSH accreditations rather than City & Guilds etc.

Just to add that I am considering moving to Australia in the future (I hold dual British/Australia citizenship) so it would be great if said qualification was recognised over there - I understand NEBOSH isn't really recognised in Australia. They appear to have their own qualifications over there.

Many thanks in advance for your suggestions!

jodieclark1510  
#2 Posted : 28 December 2018 11:54:43(UTC)
jodieclark1510

What kind of work are you involved in? What are your known areas of development? What would you be interested in learning? Are there any transferrable skills you might need to brush up on?

markeland  
#3 Posted : 28 December 2018 13:13:59(UTC)
markeland

Many thanks for your response. 

I work within large-scale manufacturing but to be honest, I don't find it particularly interesting and my role unfortunately has/makes very little impact.