Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Eddie O Gorman  
#1 Posted : 20 January 2020 21:17:59(UTC)
Eddie O Gorman

Hi, I was hoping someone could give me a little advice on how to start, I have just finished a certificate course on Occupational Health and Safety with UCD, I have reams of info to do with the course but very little info on what a Health and safety officer does day to day, are there common templates that everyone uses as their safety checks, a list of daily, weekly, monthly and yearly projects, any and all help would be gratefully recieved.                By the way, I am a retained firefighter who also has his own small landscaping business, I worked in a hardware store and, at one stage, used to own my own store, am on carers leave at the moment with my daughter but that finishes in about 6 months and I want to change career to health and safety, am from Clare in Ireland, many thanks

peter gotch  
#2 Posted : 21 January 2020 10:23:03(UTC)
peter gotch

Morning Eddie

That is a huge question!!

However, there are things you need to do for your landscaping business and in your role as a carer to manage numerous types of risk. May be you don't write down all your assessments of the risks, nor what you do to mitigate these, but that would be a starting point.

Then suggest you join IOSH and do some networking at your local Branch and/or District.

+ keep asking QQ here.

Good luck.

Clark34486  
#3 Posted : 21 January 2020 12:09:15(UTC)
Clark34486