Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Admin  
#1 Posted : 12 July 2001 11:27:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Richard We are having some major construction work done during the summer, to which CDM Regs apply. Yesterday I spoke to one of the contractor's employees who was using a road drill without hearing protection. My boss subsequently told me that since we have handed the site over to the contractor it is none of my business what they do. I am not a CDM expert but my interpretation is that unless we have we have appointed an agent, and the appointment has been acknowledged by HSE, then we, as the Client, retain health and safety responsibilility for the operations of the contractor, and the sub-contractors, (albeit shared) and therefore I have a duty to monitor their operations, if only to prove "due diligence" I know this has come up in the past, but I can't seem to find it in the archive. I would welcome some advice from those who are a bit more familiar with CDM than I am! Thanks Richard
Admin  
#2 Posted : 12 July 2001 12:23:00(UTC)
Admin