Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Admin  
#1 Posted : 02 October 2002 12:46:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Adam Morris
I have recenlty been asked to define my organisations responsibilities for the provosion of health and safety training. I am quite new to health and safety and my current role is a trainer, is manual handling training mandatory? Obviously we should not be carrying out manual handling tasks unless reasonably practicable and any tasks should assessed for risk, in my eyes if manual handling is present then staff should recive training for this, i cannot find anything in the regs to say that this is a duty, although in relation to the management regs and HASWA the employer has to provide instruction, training and supervision. Is there anyone that makes manual handling training mandatory in their organisation?
Admin  
#2 Posted : 02 October 2002 13:57:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Alison Dando