Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Admin  
#1 Posted : 08 September 2003 13:41:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Gary Morton
afternoon all,
I have been practising health and safety for some 6 years now, and when given the task of writing a general statements have always included in that the phrase the term 'so far as is reasonably practicable' as opposed to I will!!,

I believe that not putting this statement in would lead to any comittements made in the statement, being taken as an absolute duty i.e. we will require that any company contracted to work for this organisation applies health and safety standards that are fully consistant with our own, I am having a real job convincing the health and safety manager that the phrase so far as reasonably practicable is necessary from a legal point of view, am I losing my marbles????
Admin  
#2 Posted : 08 September 2003 14:38:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Andy Petrie
well as it is essentially the basis for all UK H&S law, I think you have the right idea.
Admin  
#3 Posted : 08 September 2003 14:43:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Neil Pearson
No, you're not losing your marbles, but that phrase should not be used too much in coporate documents. It's alright in the law, but for your own organisation you should try to be more specific about what will be done.

For example, instead of staying "staff should avoid lone working so far as is reasonably practicable", you carry out a risk assessment and specify which jobs can't sensibly be controlled any other way, and which require another person, a radio, etc.