Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Admin  
#1 Posted : 04 March 2004 20:00:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Ken Chappell
PLEASE HELP.

I am new to the Health and Safety profession.

I have been asked by my manager to look at the DSEAR Regs to see whether our factory premises are compliant.

My manager has given me the ACOP and told me to find out what we, as an organisation must do.

To be honest I haven't a clue where to start.

Can anyone please give me some advice as to what to do.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Many thanks and kind regards.

Ken Chappell.
Admin  
#2 Posted : 04 March 2004 22:04:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Peter John Campbell Quill
Dear Ken

If you are short on guidance try http://www.safety.ed.ac....sess/DSEAR_Guidance.html

Alternatively there is always the HSE site http://www.hse.gov.uk/spd/dsear.htm#Advice

I'm sure you will get on like a house on fire ...

Regards

Peter
Admin  
#3 Posted : 05 March 2004 09:03:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Allan St.John Holt
Ken,

I suggest you start by identifying your organisation's appointed competent person (a requirement of the Management Regulations) and asking for some help in identifying your current controls in this area. Then you can use the ACoP to carry out a gap analysis, and work together to fill the gaps. This would be the easiest way in my opinion.

I have the feeling that you aren't too comfortable with this task!

Good luck,

Allan
Admin  
#4 Posted : 05 March 2004 12:43:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Stuart Nagle
Ken.

Have sent you some info via Email.

Stuart Nagle
Admin  
#5 Posted : 08 March 2004 00:14:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Dave Daniel