Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Admin  
#1 Posted : 17 March 2004 12:31:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Richard Spencer Would someone tell me why it is important to get a degree, or it it not important at all. If I get a degree how will it help me? Worry Wort
Admin  
#2 Posted : 17 March 2004 13:31:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Karen Todd Hi Richard, Unfortunately for some jobs, having a degree is listed as one of the essential criteria, so you won't even get a job interview without one. However, there are many health and safety experts out there who do not have a degree. They have other qualifications and experience. I have a degree in manufacturing engineering (nearly the same as mechanical except for the final year). I really struggled with it as it was very academic and I scraped a third as I had really lost my motivation. However, I was unhappy with my third so I then went back part time and did a PGDip in Manufacturing Management, which I liked a lot better and I could see the practical application of things. Hardly anyone looks at degree classifications now though, so only getting a third doesn't bother me. I did the NEBOSH Gen Cert and stumbled into the safety world, loved that, funded myself and did my Dip 1, got an appetite for more and am now doing my Dip 2. My engineering degree has probably now come in more useful that I am working in safety than in any other job I've had. For example, I had a dynamo eyebolt that broke in service and I was able to put my engineers hat on and see that it was a brittle fracture, examine the directions of loading, calculate the forces on it, see if it had been overloaded, look at