Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Admin  
#1 Posted : 09 April 2004 00:10:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Paul Allaway What constitutes a competent person..? I thought that the term 'competent'.. with regard to H&S is a person has a level of both knowledge and experience that may allow him to carry out the job... I am asking as I read in this months SHP that soon you may have to be 'licensed/registered' to be competent...... Would somebody with 8 years generic H&S experience that has a NEBOSH Cert and umteen other supporting qualifications be deemed to be ‘competent’? I work as a sole H&S advisor for a small company carrying out all their generic H&S duties and ensure that the Director complies with the regulations as practicably as he can... I am due to sit my Dip 1 in the summer and then apply for Tech SP status.. One day I shall hopefully rise to the level of MIOSH whereby all will know.... even the postman as it will be on ALL my mail....
Admin  
#2 Posted : 09 April 2004 10:01:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Craige When I did my Nebosh Cert one question was: "What are the elements of competency?" The answer is they were looking for was: Someone with the relevant: S - skill K - knowledge A - atitude T - training E - Experience According to NEBOSH if you have these you are competent. How they are measured is another matter. Craig
Admin  
#3 Posted : 09 April 2004 11:38:00(UTC)
Admin