Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
bricky  
#1 Posted : 07 August 2017 10:04:53(UTC)
bricky

Hi all

I am new here and looking for advice, i have had an accident at work i work in the construction trade.

A brief description of my accident, I was asked to work in an area where noise was present i did wear ear plugs which were provided by the main contracter, the workers that were creating the noise later told me (thanks) that they had to wear  industrial ear protection 30db plus due to the noise levels there specific job produces, the noise was allso amplified due to a confined space making my earplugs fairly useless which is some thing a did not realise until recently after research ect. 

Unfortunatly at the time i did not know my hearing had been damaged so never filled in the accident book this was 6 weeks ago i now have poor hearing and a constant buzz in my ears (tinnitis), i was not warned, advised no toolbox talk ect of the dangers just asked to work in that area, i feel let down and disapointed with the contracter as this is one of the largest construction companys in the UK.

I am hoping some one can advise me.   

David Bannister  
#2 Posted : 07 August 2017 14:25:34(UTC)
David Bannister

bricky, the immediate action you should take is a visit to you GP who may then refer you to the local audiology dept.