Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Cj2006  
#1 Posted : 31 October 2017 18:43:27(UTC)
Cj2006

Hi, I am looking for some advice on whether to start a career in health and safety. I started working in a manufacturing role on a shop floor and have progressed up to a management role in manufacturing so would have pretty good first hand experience of hazards e.g welding, machining etc. I have a masters degree in mechanical engineering and have completed a professional qualification in LEV design. I have recently taken an interest in Health and safety and have completed my NEBOSH General Certificate. Would any of my previous experience be relevant to a career in health and safety and would anyone have any recommendations as to how to get started? Any help is greatly appreciated.
RayRapp  
#2 Posted : 01 November 2017 09:29:47(UTC)
RayRapp

Your previous experience in industry is a big plus because having that 'hands-on' knowledge of hazards puts you at a distinct advantage. Breaking through into a health and safety career may be a little more dificult. The pay is not so good, unless you make a senior position, so I would think twice if I were you. That said, by taking a keen interest in all health and safety matters will make you a better manager and if an opportunity should arise you will be in a better position to take advantage of it. Good luck. 

Cj2006  
#3 Posted : 01 November 2017 19:29:47(UTC)
Cj2006

Many thanks for your input Ray 👍🏼
Jackson43278  
#4 Posted : 02 November 2017 08:55:46(UTC)
Jackson43278