Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
andy1963  
#1 Posted : 08 December 2017 08:15:39(UTC)
andy1963

Hi this is my first post so be gentle with me.

This morning I was nearly wiped out by the company pool car as I drove into work. I didn't recognise the driver and have since found out it was the son of a manager, but he is not an employee of the company.

He had used the car to collect an employee (who had been travelling on company business) from the airport the previous evening. 

This may be a simplistic question.

My question is: can anyone, even someone who isn't an employee, drive a pool car on company business?

I'm new to health and safety as a job role and am on an initial 6 month contract at this company. The company is old school and most of the workforce have been here for many years. My worry is that this person may not be covered by insurance to drive the car but this is something that has gone on for years.

​​​​​​​Advice needed. Many thanks

Oliverp1  
#2 Posted : 08 December 2017 08:22:19(UTC)
Oliverp1

Do you not have anyway of seeing who is insured to drive? Can you just ask?

andy1963  
#3 Posted : 08 December 2017 08:33:39(UTC)
andy1963

Oliverp1,

I'm in the process of asking the question internally (via email-arse covering lol), but having followed this forum for a while it becomes obvious that the "real world" throws up all kinds of situations and experiences.

I wanted to tap into that experience and not just go into "bull in a china shop" mode, as is my way. 

RayRapp  
#4 Posted : 08 December 2017 08:49:01(UTC)
RayRapp