Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
thunderchild  
#1 Posted : 08 January 2018 08:13:43(UTC)
thunderchild

Morning all!

Having reviewed the last fixed wire test for my new company I can see a couple of boards not tested due to asbestos and there are a couple of boards with asbestos containing fuses (I'm not an electrician so forgive the ignorence on the technical terms). 

Do these need to be removed and replaced with new boards?

Can anyone chip in with any advice?? I manily need to know how do I find out if these boards are still safe to be in use electrical wise as well as deal with the asbestos risk????

There is a asbestos management plan in place (old building so there is lots of it) but I've yet to see it (only week 2) and we don't believe the boards are on it.

From the posts on the IET forum there stance is to leave them alone (quite rightly) as its the duty holder to sort, so where to start really.

jodieclark1510  
#2 Posted : 08 January 2018 09:00:38(UTC)
jodieclark1510

If you don't think the boards are on there they need to be added into the plan- or would it be useful to perhaps have a new survey undertaken to include them?

georgiaredmayne  
#3 Posted : 08 January 2018 09:41:36(UTC)
georgiaredmayne

Get a new survey undertaken to ensure that it is captured by a competent surveyor from that you can then update the AMP. If it's something that needs to be maintained (and it does), depending on survey results, I would advise for it to be removed.

RayRapp  
#4 Posted : 08 January 2018 09:44:46(UTC)
RayRapp