Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
hardworkingdude  
#1 Posted : 10 February 2018 22:54:58(UTC)
hardworkingdude

So here I am after doing a level 6 diploma in Applied Health and Safety, it's been ages and I can't seem to find that first job, I've gone as far as to volunteer to get experience as a safety practitioner but to no avail. I currently work as an engineer but desperately want to move into a health and safety career, I've had 2 interviews both for trainee health and safety jobs and both times I've been rejected due to not having experience! Does any one have any tips, any further courses I can take to make me stand out as I feel like giving up! :(
Kate  
#2 Posted : 11 February 2018 08:10:09(UTC)
Kate

If lack of experience is the blocker then more courses are unlikely to help, what you need is experience and just as importantly to show that you have experience.  

A good way to get experience is within your engineer role.  If you tell your employer you are interested there may be things you can do, for example, joining the health and safety committee and taking part in any relevant tasks such as risk assessments and inspections.  Also, you need to make sure that your CV and interview answers reflect the experience that you have already got.  You don't say what kind of engineering work you do but engineering roles often do have a significant element of health and safety which you can use to your advantage.

Don't give up.  Good luck!

thanks 1 user thanked Kate for this useful post.
hardworkingdude on 12/02/2018(UTC)
peter gotch  
#3 Posted : 11 February 2018 14:35:24(UTC)
peter gotch