Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
kingpin0102  
#1 Posted : 10 April 2018 08:40:54(UTC)
kingpin0102

Just looking a little advice from my peers if you don't mind. I've been working as a safety officer for last 6 months now so still have a lot to learn. I caught electricians crawling along electrical trunking on top of live cables approx 10 metres high. They are running in new cables and have access to a mewp and a telescopic cherry picker. I told them to come down off the ladder racking and use said mewp/cherry picker to access the new cable and ladder racking . I have come on to work this morning and the same thing is happening and I've been told by my let's say higher management that they are happy for them to crawl along it and clip their fall arrest equipment to the ladder racking. I've explained that they have no reason to be on there and it can be avoided by using mewp etc but to no avail. I don't believe that clipping the fall arrest equipment to the ladder racking supporting 12mm stud bar, that's hanging from the ceiling is sufficient, but I'm unsure. Any advice on this much appreciated. I'm also unhappy about working on top of live cables.
A Kurdziel  
#2 Posted : 10 April 2018 09:43:34(UTC)
A Kurdziel

Why won't they use the MEWP?

RayRapp  
#3 Posted : 10 April 2018 09:44:20(UTC)
RayRapp

I ask the electricians why they prefer to use this system of work rather than the equipment provided for them...you may be surprised by the answer.

kingpin0102  
#4 Posted : 10 April 2018 09:53:25(UTC)
kingpin0102