Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
FlashingBlade  
#1 Posted : 29 November 2018 14:49:15(UTC)
FlashingBlade

Hi all, 

I'm currently looking at new fire alarm systems for a number of our premises (manufacturing sites) and one of the installers is proposing using a wireless system to avoid the need to install cabling which obviously saves on labour cost but also due to the age of the building, wiring would be difficult (but not impossible). 

I've no experience of using such a system so looking for experiences of those that do. I suppose to some degree I might be prejudiced by the amount of time my home wifi drops out! 

chas  
#2 Posted : 29 November 2018 15:18:47(UTC)
chas

We had a wireless sytem installed in a Grade 1 listed building. The old wired system was well and truely out of date and in order to upgrade the whole system a wireless system seemed the best approach. There were initial concerns regarding the perceived effects of having very high voltage cables being close by and having very thick building walls, but these have proved not to be an issue. The system has been active for a couple of years and we have had no problems to date.    

FlashingBlade  
#3 Posted : 29 November 2018 16:35:24(UTC)
FlashingBlade

Thanks Chas, thats good to know. Part of my initial concern was the thickness of the walls and potential interference from potentially unshielded sources. The building we're looking at is from the mind 1800's, with walls that are 36" in places. 

tony.  
#4 Posted : 30 November 2018 07:29:24(UTC)
tony.