Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
nomiracle  
#1 Posted : 19 January 2019 13:09:11(UTC)
nomiracle

Hello,

This is my first post on here so please go easy on me, I'm a former mechanical fitter/fridge engineer that unfortunately due to an accident at work 3 years ago (contributory negligence... a long story) I'm not working and so decided to pursue a career in H&S which started with me studying towards Nebosh Nat Gen Cert which I'm confidently awaiting my final GC1 exam results after a second sitting and I've already passed 2/3 as well as IOSH Managing Safely. I want to go on to Diploma status to open more doors and I've already started studying towards this although not officially as due to being on a very low income I can't afford either the Nebosh or NCRQ route at this present time and so I'm hoping that I can get a start in the industry based upon a Nebosh cert and 25+ years experience in Oil and Gas. My question is if anybody can help , Is there any other recognised short courses that I could take to both further my knowledge and to 'bling' my CV? I've taken some ROSPA /CPD certified courses in COSHH, manual handling, working at heights, risk assessment awareness and fire training but I was hoping that there may be some other short (ish) courses that would Improve my chances of gaining employment. Any help would be gratefully appreciated including any general help with getting a foothold within the industry at the age of 50!

Thanks in advance.

SNS  
#2 Posted : 19 January 2019 22:03:31(UTC)
SNS

Good luck in your endeavors. Well done for the Gen Cert.