Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
njfeathe85  
#1 Posted : 31 March 2019 08:02:57(UTC)
njfeathe85

Good Morning, this is my first time posting on IOSH so hoping I have chosen the correct forum to post in. I have recently sat my NEBOSH GC exams so I am more aware of H&S than I ever have been before, admittedly this makes me quite keen to do the right thing as there are things I am aware of now!

Alongside my day job in events I am also working on a project as a volunteer for a one off live music event for an organisation.  The organisation is run by three individuals and has a number of contractors and volunteers helping to pull the event together.  The event is expected to attract around 750 people.

So my observations & questions -

1. Due to the fact there are only 3 employees of the organisation, health and safety policy and risk assessments are not required to be recorded and written down.  However, does this change in this scenario where an event with members of the public, contractors, volunteers etc are in attendance?

2. Regardless of the number of employees, I feel it would show due diligence to at the very least have a Safety Plan (following CDM regs and detailing emergency show stop procedures, welfare information and competent person information).  In addition I feel it would be better to record the risk assessments and have them in the file as well.  Would you agree?

3. Within the events industry, specifically when loading in/out and during the setting up of marquees, stages, exhibitions etc the minumum PPE required is usually protective footwear, gloves and hi vis vest.