Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Lishka0  
#1 Posted : 04 December 2020 16:29:53(UTC)
Lishka0

Apologies but I am no asbestos expert and I have a query on when a ful R&D survey is required for minor works in a property. I was always told a management survey was fine for daily management of a property but refurbs need a full R&D survey for such small minor works such as drilling a hole. Now there are other controls in place such as management surveys, property archetypes, asbestos awareness (also Cat B trained trades), safe sysems of work, stopping work if suspect, using Asbestos Essentials etc

Would their still be a need for a full R&D survey in place for drilling a hole or can there be other factors or context that would need to be considered to help with this? Would sampling the area be an option or would the need for a full R&D survey be essential?

kmason83  
#2 Posted : 04 December 2020 18:40:32(UTC)
kmason83

Drilling a hole is not refurbishment or demolition so no you won't need a full R&D, how much drilling are we talking here I mean are you putting up a picture or? 

Refer to your managment survey amongst other things for risk level but I am curious as to who is giving this advice and do you have anyone with asbestos competance?  If you know you have asbestos and you don't know what is what I can reccommend an extremely reliable company who I have worked with for 10 years I have a contact if you want to PM me.