Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
CptBeaky  
#1 Posted : 15 December 2020 11:16:09(UTC)
CptBeaky

As some may know, I work in the window industry. This is not really relevant to to H&S of my work, but it is related. We are about to start manufacturing of a new type of window. These windows automatically open when they detect smoke. The reasoning is that "more people die of smoke inhalation than the actual fire". This sounds ridiculous to me, akin to arguing that more people die of seatbelt injuries than flying through windscreens. It is a well known building company that is asking for them, and they intend to install them on stairwells. Wouldn't they just create a nice supply of oxygen to a fire?

Are there any fire safety experts on here that want to comment on this. Is it as silly as it seems? Or is there method to this madness?

biker1  
#2 Posted : 15 December 2020 11:28:26(UTC)
biker1

I wouldn't consider myself a fire expert, but this idea seems to go against current wisdom in fire safety. Keep doors and windows closed to limit Oxygen available to feed the fire, and avoid draughts that could fan the fire. The idea of windows opening in the event of fire sounds ridiculous to me. I know some buildings are constructed such that roofs will blow off but that is for explosion relief. The idea of ventilating the fire is a novel way of looking at things, but I fear would create more problems than it solves. Perhaps the company in question could provide some rational justification for this, backed up by sound research.

Mosh  
#3 Posted : 15 December 2020 12:02:01(UTC)
Mosh