Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Barrie(Badger)Etter  
#1 Posted : 18 December 2013 10:55:09(UTC)
Barrie(Badger)Etter

Just over a week ago my daughter was married and as customary I gave the 'Father of the Bride' speech. Being a true safety professional I couldn't let the safety hat be removed and I hereby share the speech for future fathers to borrow / embellish in future. I sign off now for Xmas and wish everyone well for the new year ... Wedding Speech Remember: Stand up to be seen... Speak up to be heard... Sit down to be appreciated! HAVE A DRINK TO HAND Here’s the mother of the brides’ speech – so called due to the heavy editing by the brides mother!!! =O}} When standing before a group of people as a safety officer, I'm usually giving safety talks covering manual handling, chemical hazard assessments and the like – so please bear with me whilst I run through this risk assessment. The risk assessment process better known as the Father of the Bride speech has 4 areas to cover. Stage 1) The Hazard identification or The Greeting - Good afternoon and how do you do. (Offer a theatrical hand shake) On behalf of my wife xxxx and myself, we would like to welcome you to this gathering and thank you for coming to this very special occasion to celebrate the marriage of our daughter Judith to Ben. Firstly, I would like to say what a pleasure meet Ben’s parents - Dave and Barbara, again and of course all the friends and relatives of both families who have literally travelled far to be here today. A big thank you also goes to Judith & Ben who had very definite ideas on how they wanted today to be. Through their planning