Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Westwood666  
#1 Posted : 17 December 2015 08:52:44(UTC)
Westwood666

Morning all! I'm hoping to enquire with people who have been in a similar situation to myself for advice of how to advance myself. A little background on myself. I'm an ex military veteran, served in the RAF for 6 years and now Iv left although I am working f/t Iv identified H&S as the sector is like to work in. The responsibility and challenge interests me the most. Anyway Iv read through many of the posts already on the forums and have already done many of the things mentioned. I have used ELC from the military to book a NGC course in the new year, with the intention of using my ELC again in future to start the diploma, and also plan to join my local IOSH branch (leamington spa) in the new year with the hope of gaining some inside knowledge, advice and hopefully some work experience to put on my cv. Iv already joined many recruitment sites and looked at Shirley parsons to boost my future chances. Finally Iv also enquired with my current workplace about being a part of their H&s committee once I have the NGC under my belt. So that's where I am at the minute. Is their anything I'm missing that might boost my chances? How likely am I to get some work experience through networking at my local Iosh branch? At this stage would I be better served looking at h&s admin roles rather than straight into the deep end as an officer/consultant etc? Finally, I wanted to ask about whether my age would be an issue. I'm currently 28, 29 in May 16. I honestly didn't think I'd be in a position where I'd still be looking for my ca