Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Lawlee45239  
#1 Posted : 19 September 2017 11:53:11(UTC)
Lawlee45239

Hello all,

Is anyone on here able to help regarding how often to change face mask filters? I understand there are no set timings, and I understand an assessment of the product and exposure times is required, but I am not up to speed in this area, and fear my judgement may not be correct.

Thanks in advance

A Kurdziel  
#2 Posted : 19 September 2017 12:34:43(UTC)
A Kurdziel

I have been working with these masks for 15 years and I have never come across a definitive answer to this question. If you think about there is a world of difference between a mask that is used once a week for ten minutes and one that is used all day long in some dusty atmosphere. No manufacturer will tell you whether masks need changing. My rules of thumb are:

1. If the filter looks dirty or is wet change it immediately
  2. If you wear it all day in a dirty environment change it at the end of the shift
  3.  A couple of hours a day every day change at the end of the week
  4.  Occasional use change every month or so

This is very rough and ready and might be completely wrong for you. Someone might have a more scientific way of measuring the effectiveness of masks. If they have please tell me about it.

Lawlee45239  
#3 Posted : 19 September 2017 13:30:58(UTC)
Lawlee45239

Originally Posted by: A Kurdziel Go to Quoted Post