Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
ShaneMcD  
#1 Posted : 26 June 2018 10:44:42(UTC)
ShaneMcD

Good morning all,

I have worked in H+S after moving from scientific background and I am applying for a job that requires me to give a presentation (this is 2nd stage interview).  The topic I have been given is lithium ion batteries - 1) Discuss how they work in laymans terms 2) what are the safety controls (risk assessment) required for a research lab working with lithium-ion cells/batteries.

My confusion comes from the second part.  I have no prior knowledge to their specific processes or at what stage of testing these batteries find themselves in (confidential information).  

Since these batteries have several different chemical make ups and assembly procedures do I just pick the most common type and discuss the potential risks at all stages of development? (small cells to large batteries)

It is my first time giving an interview presentation and the vagueness of it all makes me uneasy :D

Thanks for any help and all the best

trapale  
#2 Posted : 26 June 2018 10:50:29(UTC)
trapale

If it were me the MSDS and then the COSHH assessment should point you in the right direction.
ShaneMcD  
#3 Posted : 26 June 2018 10:52:28(UTC)
ShaneMcD

But that is almost the exact problem.  Without knowing specific processes or chemical make ups how can one perform a CoSHH assessment and/or process risk assessment.

Hence me asking if it would be in my interest to pick a popular lithium battery and assume they make that just to demonstrate my ability.

ShaneMcD  
#4 Posted : 26 June 2018 11:05:11(UTC)
ShaneMcD