Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
DFCartlidge  
#1 Posted : 22 October 2018 13:34:08(UTC)
DFCartlidge

I was discussing accident reporting recently and it made me wonder if anything had changed following the introduction of GDPR, especially for accidents involving members of the public, or other non-employee's.

The HSE page on this doesn't appear to have been updated (Still a '3-day' reference for RIDDOR on one page!) and I can't find anything particularly useful through the usual internet search. I am also a First Aid trainer and not been informed of any changes by my Awarding Organisation.

Should accident record forms include a GDPR statement?

Does anything change if the casualty is under 18?

Any advice would be appreciated.

A Kurdziel  
#2 Posted : 22 October 2018 13:53:31(UTC)
A Kurdziel

As far as I know there is still a legal requirement to report certain injuries and incidents to the public, under RIDDOR, to the HSE. As this is a clear legal requirement, under GDPR it is acceptable collect this information and to past it onto the HSE. GDPR is mainly concerned with how you store this information and how you share it (or not share it) with other people.

DFCartlidge  
#3 Posted : 22 October 2018 14:10:23(UTC)
DFCartlidge

I realise there has been no change to RIDDOR (Yet!), but what about none reportable accidents that still need to be 'recorded'. Should there be some form of GDPR statement like most forms where personal data is collected?