Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
CptBeaky  
#1 Posted : 16 January 2020 13:35:29(UTC)
CptBeaky

I work in a factory with 85 men and 5 women across all departments. Recently we had a drain blockage putting one set of toilets out of action for 2 days. This led to much discussion about adequate number of facilities. It was the usual, with people pulling HSE "law" out of their orifices, despite me giving them facts. (for the record it meant that for the men (which I count sperately since they are the vast majority of the workforce) we were down to 5 stalls and 4 urinals, still above the ACOP of 4 and 3. Normally we have 9 stalls and 4 urinals.

The arguement then went onto what would we do if the blockage wiped out the next stalls down on the drainage system (leaving us with 2 stalls and 4 urinals). I admitted that I wasn't sure.

So given that they were down for 2 days, but we still had some facilities available, would we have had to make alternative arrangements, or  even limit the number of people at work? We do have a ladies block with 3 more stalls, and a disabled toilet (locked with the key upstairs!), so I could have worked something out. However I would prefer to have this gap in my knowledge filled. Any ideas? 

Roundtuit  
#2 Posted : 16 January 2020 14:04:26(UTC)
Roundtuit

The guidance assumes everything is in working order - you will note there is no caveat for "just in case".