Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
NBBeacock  
#1 Posted : 13 February 2020 08:26:39(UTC)
NBBeacock

Just wanting to get some opinions and thoughts – Little bit of background, I have been working in various H&S roles for around 20 years, I have been in my current role as a H&S Officer for the last 5 years. When I started the site had no real reporting culture unless it was a serious accident which even then the reports were poor. The site averaged 8 injury claims a year. We are now in a position were over the last 5 years near miss reporting has increased every year and accidents have reduced every year to the point where last year we had zero lost time and only 16 minor accidents across the 12 months with 0 claims. Obviously I am not saying that this is just down to a better reporting culture as we have implemented a lot of other things by way of training and educating staff, a lot of which has been triggered by actions from near miss reports.

Now - We have a new general manager who is from an production manager background with a focus on production figures, he is of the opinion that near miss reporting is a bad thing as it highlights that we have a dangerous site and in any case after the amount of reports over the past 5 years the figure should naturally reduce as we will have captured everything. He is saying that we should now aim to reduce the near miss reports and the accident reports will look after themselves.

I have expressed my opinions and believe firmly that what he is saying is (Politely) wrong and we will end up going back to where we were.

What do people think ?